Sovereign Native Nations Display

Students from around Arizona Sovereign Native Nations

A permanent display showcasing the state of Arizona and the seals of Arizona Native Nations was installed in the Student Recreation Center on August 2, 2019.  The display is a tribute to the 22 sovereign native nations in Arizona, the nearly 1500  University of Arizona students who hail from them, and the homelands of Indigenous Peoples our University sits on. The seals of the 19 Native Nations who elected to participate in the display surround an image of the state of Arizona, the interior listing facts about our great state. 

"Students from Around Arizona" celebrates the diversity of the University of Arizona student body and pays tribute to the homelands of indigenous peoples our University sits on.  It is part of a larger Campus Recreation program called "Celebrating Our Diversity".

To honor all UArizona students and to make everyone feel welcome to use the recreation center. 

Our diversity is part of what makes the UA so great.  Different ideas, beliefs, perspectives, and experiences bring real world knowledge to this educational institution.  This helps us expand our horizons, push our boundaries and reach greater heights and achievements—ultimately, contributing more to the world.  At Campus Rec and across campus, we celebrate those aspects that make us who we are, including our diversity, enabling us to become truly inclusive community.  

Campus Recreation welcomes the entire UA community to engage and participate in recreational activities in pursuit of overall wellness and well-being.

Arizona is home to 22 sovereign native nations:

  • Ak-Chin Indian Community
  • Cocopah Indian Tribe
  • Colorado River Indian Tribes
  • Fort McDowell Yavapai Nation
  • Fort Mojave Indian Tribe
  • Fort Yuma-Quechan Tribe
  • Gila River Indian Community
  • Havasupai Tribe
  • Hopi Tribe
  • Hualapai Tribe
  • Kaibab Band of Paiute Indians
  • Navajo Nation
  • Pascua Yaqui Tribe
  • Pueblo of Zuni
  • Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community
  • San Carlos Apache Tribe
  • San Juan Southern Paiute Tribe
  • Tohono O’odham Nation
  • Tonto Apache Tribe
  • White Mountain Apache Tribe
  • Yavapai-Apache Nation
  • Yavapai-Prescott Indian Tribe

The University of Arizona sits on the original homelands of Indigenous Peoples who have stewarded this Land since time immemorial. Aligning with the University's core value of a diverse and inclusive community, it is an institutional responsibility to recognize and acknowledge the People, culture, and history that make up the Wildcat community. At the institutional level, it is important to be proactive in broadening awareness throughout campus to ensure our students feel represented and valued. 

Campus Recreation's Sovereign Native Nations Display was completed in cooperation with UA Office of Tribal Relations. 

Please direct any questions, comments or concerns to Troy Vaughn, Campus Rec Director:

For display errors or corrections, contact Dan Blumenthal, Assistant Director, Marketing & Communications:

Additions and changes to the current composition of the display will be handled annually (around the Winter Break timeframe), based on the listings in the most recent UA FactBook and the state of Arizona. Any errors will be handled as soon as possible. 

Arizona: Home to 22 Sovereign Native Nations

Statehood: February 15, 1912
Population: 7 Million +
State Flag: Alternating red and yellow rays represent the 13 original colonies and the western setting sun. The copper star identifies Arizona as the largest copper producing state in the nation.
State Flower: Saguaro Cactus Blossom
State Gem: Turquoise
State Tree: Palo Verde
State Bird: Cactus Wren
State Colors: Blue & Gold

Sovereign Native Nations plaque at Campus Recreation